Skip to main content

Mc Cormick International GL 100 hay rake

More
6 years 7 months ago #185456 by Mobile 1
HI All, Can anyone help with parts for this old rake I have picked up, it looks like its hit a stump or fence post and broken the axle bearing housing on the drive side and cracked the gearbox housing which are both cast steel . the rake is the one with 2 12 inch trailing wheels and 2 16 inch front wheels with a enclosed gearbox.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
6 years 7 months ago #185478 by Sarge
Where In this great country are you hiding Moby One???? I have a lot of experience with these rakes, the bearing carrier is very poorly constructed, mine has let go when working at allowed the chain to go slack and jam on the chassis, smashing a brand new (os) drive cog.... specially made out of pure Unobtainium. :dry:

My gear box has a crack right across it, so I made the oil a bit thicker with a heap of grease, I didnt even bother with a silicon skin, though if you had the time an patience some sort of sealer applied on a clean and dry diff inside could make any leak negligible. :whistle:

Sarge B)
ACCO Owner, Atkinson dreamer.

More
6 years 7 months ago #185479 by Mrsmackpaul
If they are cast steel just weld them up with normal welding rods but not with a mig welder as it will crack again

If they are cast iron weld them up with nickle welding rods, no need to pre heat just into it

Paul

Your better to die trying than live on your knees begging

More
6 years 7 months ago #185480 by Mobile 1