Skip to main content

Single person cab truck help

More
5 years 9 months ago #194397 by Gryphon
Hi,

this has come in via an email....

Dear Sir,

I would like you ask your organisation for help in getting some info about a particular kind of truck. I don't know its name, maker or any other such information. It was a single tray on a rigid chassis and would be a medium sized vehicle by today's standards. Its outstanding characteristic was a cab that could only take the driver, no passengers. The tray extended to either side of the cab, the idea being to allow the carriage of longer lengths of some kinds of loads. Family legend has it that it was designed by my uncle and another man while working for an unknown company. He was a truck body builder by trade.

Unfortunately, I didn't enquire about details at the time and my uncle has since died. These vehicles fell out of use decades ago. I'd like to get as much information as possible to see whether the family legend is based in fact.

Thank you,

Mark Gilligan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #194398 by Lang
Replied by Lang on topic Single person cab truck help
I think if Mark gave you a rough date period we could come up with photos of similar vehicles.

Saw one the other day but on an 8 wheeler chassis.

lang

More
5 years 9 months ago #194399 by Blackduck59
Along with a time frame an area would help. Had these back in the mid 70's when I worked for Inters in Perth.
Knew them as Island Cabs.

More
5 years 9 months ago #194400 by xspanrman
I remember Brighton's of Sydney ( I think the suburb of Carlton) built this island cab trucks that were referred to as long toms. I remember they some had International chassis and Brighton's made the cab and bodies. Used a lot for long steel and timber deliveries

More
5 years 9 months ago #194405 by JOHN.K.