Skip to main content

T34 gearbox into acco 1830a

More
3 years 3 weeks ago - 3 years 3 weeks ago #219406 by AccoPhil
Hi guys, I’m pretty new to all this, but I have aquired a t34 overdrive gearbox and I made sure it would fit into the acco bell housing , but have just realised the gear shift linkages are different and was wandering if anyone knew how to overcome this issue ?? I thought on out changing plate ontop but they are different mounting bolts, thanks for any help in advance

Gotta click insert if'n ya wanna put ya picky in.........

!!!!
Last edit: 3 years 3 weeks ago by Sarge.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
3 years 3 weeks ago #219408 by JOHN.K.
Replied by JOHN.K. on topic T34 gearbox into acco 1830a
So what box is in the truck now?......the remote change top and the stick type are interchangeable ,provided you have the same iteration of box..................some here will know the IHT34/35/36 boxes had a completely modified change top circa mid 1970,to cure the annoying problem the early boxes had of getting the stick jammed in between the shifter notches when going from first to reverse without a very conscious movement to hold the shifter square.

More
3 years 3 weeks ago #219413 by AccoPhil
SMA 475 is in truck now direct drive and changing to the red one in pictures with gear stick set up I attached pics of the truck Insitu linkages

More
3 years 3 weeks ago #219433 by 180wannabe
G'day AccoPhil. I'm not sure how you will go there without getting a bit creative, i haven't seen that model 'box in a tilt cab acco before.

Let me know if you can't/don't end up using the T34, i am looking for one.

Brett.

More
3 years 3 weeks ago #219434 by AccoPhil
That’s not good to hear , I’ll let you know

More
3 years 3 weeks ago - 3 years 3 weeks ago #219445 by Sarge
Replied by Sarge on topic T34 gearbox into acco 1830a
AP, that looks the same as my old butter box, the shifter is quite straight forward, assume common parts.