Skip to main content

want to get a truck licence, need advice.

More
14 years 11 months ago #8662 by fieldsmark
I plan to get a Heavy Rigid truck licence under heavy vehicle competency based assessment. The company or person that I found to do it with quoted me for $1100 and told me that "we try to do it (get my licence) for one day" - from 7am to 5pm. And if I require more hours I'll have to purchase more hours, of course.
I inquired other companies and one company for 2-day program charges around $1800, which is a lot more expensive. The other company charges $115 per hour (for HR), however doesn't give any estimation for how long could it take to train me.
My concern is that if I go with the first option, does anybody think that getting a HR (constant mesh, crash box, unrestricted) licence can be achieved for one day of training, taking in mind that I've been driving manual cars since 1999?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
14 years 11 months ago #8663 by kennymopar2
a mate of mine who didnt even know how to stir porridge got a HR licence in one day ... but im thinking he was generous in how he paid the instructor

14 years 11 months ago #8664 by
Have you tried DECA i know they are found Victoria but other states i dont know.

If you think you can handle a truck well then you might get it but i dont like your chances.

If you know a mate with a truck that needs a HR licence why dont you go and drive it with a driver under instrutions sign for a while then pay the dough to go for it. Dave :)

More
14 years 11 months ago #8665 by fieldsmark
Thank you for the DECA, I'll have look.

unfortunately, don't have a mate with a truck

Have you tried DECA i know they are found Victoria but other states i dont know.

If you think you can handle a truck well then you might get it but i dont like your chances.