Skip to main content

GPS - Yes or No ?

• Topic Author
14 years 11 months ago - 14 years 11 months ago #9424 by
GPS - Yes or No ? was created by
G'Day

I am making my first visit to Oz in October :)
I have been driving for over 40 years, but only in the UK and the European mainland. (over 30 years with a Class 1 HGV)
I have never really used any form of GPS and have managed to get to Southern Italy and back several times (about 4000km round trip) using traditional maps and my reasonable sense of direction.

I have been advised more than once that GPS would be good for me in OZ, but dont know which way to go :-
1. Hire with car.
2. Buy a unit.
3. Dont bother at all.

Bearing in mind my expected 25 days driving in Vic and NT. is not to a timetable, and is intended to be a activity of exploration.

I generally will not be trying to find my way around cities and to specific addresses, like many of you do on a daily basis.

I would value any advice.

Cheers

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Topic Author
14 years 10 months ago #9425 by
Replied by on topic Re: GPS - Yes or No ?
Don't waste your money on it, because in NT, there is only ONE road going north anyway, don't think you could ever get lost following that one.

Victoria shouldnt be a major problem either, last time I was down there, they did have road signs at just about every intersection.

regards greenie [smiley=vrolijk_1.gif]

• Swishy
  • If U don't like my Driving .... well then get off the footpath ...... LOL
More
14 years 10 months ago #9426 by Swishy
Replied by Swishy on topic Re: GPS - Yes or No ?

RS
GuddayM8

A good boy scout can always point North
so Ifn U can do th@
it will B easy
jist follo the vehicle in front
LOL
Just avoid any beers nmade in South Australia and any where they dunno how to spell beer as in Quinslund ........ beer = XXXX
LOL

Cya

[ch9787]

OF ALL THE THINGS EYE MISS ................. EYE MISS MY MIND THE MOST

There's more WORTH in KENWORTH

More