Skip to main content

Restoring 1949 Fargo

More
14 years 3 weeks ago #26835 by mr.incredible
Greetings all;
I'll get right to the point,
As I'm a student, and a mediocre one at that - I'd like to know how much I'm up for restoring the ol' beast.
My plan is to buy an old Jag, complete (or atleast mechanically) and use the front and rear end.
Rack and pinion from some Holden and go from there...

I assume it'll take me over a couple of years - due to funds and time... Or lack thereof.
Thankfully, I live next door to a mechanic, who builds race cars and rebuilds old cars - so this will help greatly.

So, back to the question; doing a good job, how much am I expecting to overall pay - between 10, 000 and 20, 000?

Thanks all.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

14 years 3 weeks ago #26836 by
Replied by on topic Re: Restoring 1949 Fargo
Can't advise you. As how you describe your intention is that you intend to create a hot rod more than restore the Fargo.

Generally most of the people on the forum will restore the truck to original condition using the original or replacement mechanicals from another similar vehicle.

Not as you suggest using a Jag and/or holden parts.

As to costs for restoring it to original condition including mechanicals depends alot on your (or friends) skills and the condition of the vehicle to start with.

More
14 years 3 weeks ago #26837 by bigcam
Replied by bigcam on topic Re: Restoring 1949 Fargo
There's an open ended quetion. What your talking about is hot rodding not restoring. One things for sure, it'll take a lot of time, and cost some dollars. Might be easier getting a Hyundi.

More
14 years 3 weeks ago - 14 years 3 weeks ago #26838 by bparo
Replied by bparo on topic Re: Restoring 1949 Fargo
How much of the orignal truck have you got? Is it all complete or just panels and chassis? What size is it (ie what is it rated to carry?