Skip to main content

Air over hydraulic brakes, How good are they ?

More
15 years 7 months ago #4544 by JimmyDodge
Hi all, just thought I'd ask how good are air over hydraulic brakes?
My Dodge D5N has them
When I first got the Dodge home ,my old truckie neighbour Paul came over for a look. When he noticed the the brake boosters he commented that if it was his truck he would replace the "air overs"with full air brakes.
I have been thinking about this, and as I might be putting the old girl on historic rego the club registrars may knock me back,as they are supposed to be "as manufactured " to qualify for club rego in NSW.
I also thought if she survived all those years as an interstate prime mover they cant be that bad !
Over to you all for your comments
Regards Harleigh

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
15 years 7 months ago #4545 by IHScout
I'm no expert, but I always thought that if you lost an airline on an air over hydraulic system, then you lost all brakes. Whereas full air brakes are designed to come on if air is lost. I would also have thought that full air would have been an option for original equipment on these trucks. Just my two bobs worth :P

Dennis

Dennis

More
15 years 7 months ago #4546 by JimmyDodge
Just a 'ps' does anyone know anyone who stocks parts/ overhauls these Lockheed boosters/Master cylinders?
Harleigh.

More
15 years 7 months ago #4547 by kennymopar
theres a place in melbourne street maitland where ive got stuff for my dodge ..i can find out the name tomorrow (theres two brake places in the same street :-/ ) ..

More
15 years 7 months ago #4548 by JimmyDodge
Thanks Kenny, my son is going to Tocal Ag college which is nice and close to Maitland, he can be the courier service! excellent, thanks Mate!
Harleigh.

More
15 years 7 months ago #4549 by Inta ACCOs
Hi Harleigh,