Skip to main content

SA Historic rego

More
6 years 1 month ago #192405 by 600Dodge
SA Historic rego was created by 600Dodge
Is anyone on SA historic rego and if so can you explain the process and the specifics for me? Service SA were very vague on historic rego when it came to heavy vehicles.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
6 years 1 month ago #192407 by Kwakatriple
Replied by Kwakatriple on topic SA Historic rego
I am not an expert but we just put our Suzuki LJ50 on Club Rego - it is no longer called Historic Reg.

You have to be a member of a club. Any club that is approved to inspect vehicles for Club Reg is ok but you will find some clubs don't do vehicles outside their marque.

Once you are a club member you apply to the club for Club Rego and they will organise for an inspector to check your vehicle. Basically as long as the vehicle is legal and the engine number is correct they will fill in the appropriate documentation for you to take to the rego office where you will pay your money and get a receipt to take back to your club inspector who will then give you a log book. You are then done.

I had no trouble at all. I assume there might be a little more if you do not have any old reg papers (I am about to find that out...) but I am assured it is not an issue.

and when I say that as long as your vehicle is legal that means that you would be able to register it normally if you wanted to. Modifications are perfectly OK as long as they are done within the law - ie structural modifications or significant repowering might need engineers certificates etc but that is all just the road laws - not the Club Rego laws.

Good luck

1964 Bedford bus/motorhome
1972 Bedford bus/motorhome
...and sundry other 2, 3 and 4 wheel vehicles...

More
6 years 1 month ago #192409 by 600Dodge
Replied by 600Dodge on topic SA Historic rego
Thanks mate, everything is still on full WA rego so it should be easy unless the inspector is an A class polisher.