Skip to main content

More
15 years 1 month ago #8021 by wouldyou
New member was created by wouldyou
Hello all, I am new to the internet and am finding your forum very interesting. I still live on our farm in WA and have a few old tractors restored as well as a 1955 Guy Otter truck and have just about done a 1927 Chev four truck. I have driven Bedfords and Austins and the Guy and find that with even a small load they sense a hill coming and lose speed while you are trying to get a run up on the flat.It must be a British trait!Cheers David

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
15 years 1 month ago #8022 by kennymopar2
Replied by kennymopar2 on topic Re: New member
welcome to the forum . . . i agree with the pommy trucks knowing where the hills are (even if they are invisable to the naked eye ! )

More
15 years 1 month ago #8023 by IHScout
Replied by IHScout on topic Re: New member
Welcome David,
It wasn't just hills that were the problem, the old Bedfords that I drove would get a sniff of a head wind and die. Driving down to Colac in western Vicotria you get head winds all the way, and even empty I would be standing on the accelerator trying to encourage the Beddie I was driving to hold top gear on the flat.

Dennis

More
15 years 1 month ago #8024 by GM Diesel
Replied by GM Diesel on topic Re: New member
Welcome to the forum David,

On our farm at South Tammin bedfords used to make real good trailers. :D once you gave em abit of a prune with the oxy.
Is your guy the one that ive seen at Dowerin field day ?...runs real good.

Basil

GM Diesels - Converting diesel into noise since 1938.

15 years 1 month ago #8025 by
Replied by on topic Re: New member
Hi David welcome hope you get as much fun and info as rest of us do.