Skip to main content

MECHANICAL SIGNAL ARMS AND ROOF LIGHTS

More
13 years 2 months ago #44332 by Commrail
Dear Members,

I'm new to the H.C.V.C. site and am something of a novice when it comes to trucks. I hope members might be able to assist me with my queries.

I would like to know when mechanical signal arms were first fitted to the doors of trucks in South Australia and the date (approx) when the practice was discontinued. In N.S.W., a transition period existed into the late 1960s during which time vehicles were fitted with both signal arms and light indicators. Did a similar period prevail in S.A.?

Aged in my late 50s, I recall seeing orange lights on antennae-like structures fixed to the roof of trucks in N.S.W. Were vehicles in South Australia similarly equipped? Was this lighting arrangement confined to trucks on interstate runs? When was it introduced and when was it discontinued (approx)?

Any information would be greatly appreciated. I apologise if the topic has been covered previously.

Kind regards,

Commrail

Please Log in to join the conversation.

13 years 2 months ago - 13 years 2 months ago #44333 by
Commrail - The fitting of the first mechanical hand signals to trucks in S.A. would be very difficult to pin down.
The first mechanical hand signalling devices would have appeared in the early 1920's as individual manufacturers options, or standard fit.

The individual States, first, or early versions of their "Road Traffic Acts", would possibly have had the requirement of a mechanical hand signal, to be fitted to trucks, written in.
I can't tell you when this happened exactly in S.A., but I would expect their first Traffic Act was written around about the mid-1920's.
(Edit - Just found out, that the earliest S.A. Traffic Act version, in 1906, was the "Motor Traffic Regulation Act", and it was administered by the Treasury! .. so they had their hands in motorists pockets, right from the word go! .. ;D )