Skip to main content

Thanks to Cobbadog

More
2 months 4 weeks ago - 2 months 4 weeks ago #250467 by oliver1950
www.hcvc.com.au/forum/oldjunk/19345-husk...deck-repair?start=40
Re above link.
This is thank you to Cobbadog  for inspiring me to step out of my comfort zone and attempt a repair on my mower deck.
This is one of 3 ride on mowers we use to mow our 4 acres of lawn, 2 John Deere and  a Murray.
This 62 inch deck is on a John Deere X595  4wd lawn tractor that I bought second hand after the floods a few years ago as the John Deere 455 2wd was getting bogged
The deck was not in the best condition when I bought it but I didn't realise how expensive a new bare deck would be.

I read some where that if you have to grind your weld you are a grinder not a welder , the cap fits so I will wear it. I admit I am new to MIG welding. I started by cutting out the rusted bits and welding in new pieces

This next one was difficult as it had a curve in the middle but I perservered and got it done

Then I welded 4mm thick flanges where the spindles go through the deck to strengthen them and 12mm rod around the front to strengthen it as well
 Finally I had to weld up the holes in the gearbox mounts and redrill them to fit the new rubber mounts

You are not authorised to see this attachment.

Fully assembled with new blades, belt, wheel axles and wheels

So thanks Cobbadog  for the inspiration

You can't have too many toys!
Last edit: 2 months 4 weeks ago by oliver1950. Reason: fixed 1 mistake rod is 12mm not 10
The following user(s) said Thank You: 180wannabe, cobbadog, Lang, PaulFH, asw120, grandad, Southbound, wee-allis

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
2 months 4 weeks ago #250468 by Mrsmackpaul
Replied by Mrsmackpaul on topic Thanks to Cobbadog
Well done

I have never had any real luck patching mower decks

They just crack near were I welded them

That been said it could be the bloke driving the welder

Paul