Skip to main content

Re S- 900 KW s/n 76639

• BillyP
  • Topic Author
  • I wish i could remember all the things i have forgotten...
More
10 years 7 months ago #126223 by BillyP
Reading the S- 900 site,about the first ones brought in by Camerons.I see 76639 was listed as S-921 / 8v71 /8125U / R-170 rear axles for Ansett. However,I have the original w/shop manual with preliminary factory work sheet ( dated 22-5- 1962) for 76639. It says- S-925 / 6v71 / 8125U /QHFR-2 GSW (35,000 lb ) rear axles. I take it this may be the SQHD as on the other trucks (i really dont know ) & this truck is listed to Camerons. This may be nit picking but i thought it may be of interest to some one. BillyP.

I CAME INTO THIS WORLD WITH NOTHING & STILL HAVE MOST OF IT.........................

I used to be a truck driver,
but i am now not a truck driver ,
on a good day i can remember
that i used to be a truck driver.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

10 years 7 months ago #126224 by
Replied by on topic Re: Re S- 900 KW s/n 76639
G'day Billy... 76639 was a Ansett single drive (8V71,8125-U,R170 on GSW torsion bars).It was converted to bogie within about 6 months of its working life and was one of two Ansett single drives.After Ansett it went into the McMullens fleet and was written off. :(
Cheers James.

• BillyP
  • Topic Author
  • I wish i could remember all the things i have forgotten...
More
10 years 7 months ago #126225 by BillyP
Replied by BillyP on topic Re: Re S- 900 KW s/n 76639
Jimmy,I hear what you are saying, but it seems strange that this manual quotes 76639 as a diffrent unit .I got the manual when i worked in the workshop at Camerons in Bachelle Ave Lidcombe. (if you could have called that) BillyP

I CAME INTO THIS WORLD WITH NOTHING & STILL HAVE MOST OF IT.........................

I used to be a truck driver,
but i am now not a truck driver ,
on a good day i can remember
that i used to be a truck driver.

More
10 years 7 months ago #126226 by angle-iron