Skip to main content

1973, Inter D1310m 4x4, front bearing TROUBLES!!!!

More
11 years 7 months ago #97137 by D1310m
Hi all, our 73 Inter 4x4 has had overheating front bearing problems. I had stub axles welded and machined to original specs to fit new bearings/cones, new seals etc. Took it for a bedding in run today, temps were: inner 118Degrees C, outers 105 degrees. rears were 55 degrees. Please any suggestions/advice as to what I should expect temp to be, we are in Darwin where it is pretty warm (32degs today) also any one know what securing nut should be torqued to????? Many thanks, Mike T :(

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
11 years 7 months ago - 11 years 7 months ago #97138 by Bruce99
I'm not a mechanic but .......
Jack it up.
Spin the wheel & slowly do up the nut until it slows down the wheel.
Keep spinning it & unwind it till it spins freely again.
Take it back further to the next place it can be 'fixed' to.
A little too far is OK ... better than not enough.
Each time you stop after you do it, put your hand on the hub. If still getting warm, undo it a little more.
Silly question but did you force-feed the bearings?
Oh! Oops! 4WD!!
Disregard post...

***********&&---Bruce99---&&***********
Last edit: 11 years 7 months ago by Bruce99.

More
11 years 7 months ago #97139 by Mrsmackpaul
I have dumb question why do you have to bed the bearings in ? I would think they should do up just like any other tapper roller bearing pretty much as bruce99 says But what do I know :D

Your better to die trying than live on your knees begging

More
11 years 7 months ago #97140 by D1310m
Hi Bruce99, many thanks for your reply, I guessed it was the same as adjusting drum brakes! Now need new seals as I damaged them getting to the rear bearings. Bearings are ok, will order seals tomorrow. Once again thanks mate!
Mike T :)

More
11 years 7 months ago #97141 by D1310m