Skip to main content

Is an old truck for me?

More
14 years 6 months ago #15942 by hofmann
Hi all, this is my first post. I am a builder in Newcastle and I'm thinking about buying an old truck but I'm not sure if its a good idea. The main reason is that I think they are beautiful and so do many other people. I intend to use it as advertising for my construction business as well as a day to day tool so if it turns heads, all the better. At the same time I am not really mechanically minded and I can't be dealing with regular breakdowns, unavailable or excessively expensive parts. I recently bought a 2000 model mercedes vito, which turned out to be a piece of crap, and I don't want to repeat my mistake. My main question is, should I do this at all and if so, what sort of truck would you recomend. American trucks wouldn't be my first choice, because I do eco type work now and then and I don't really think it would fit in with the image. I wouldn't want anything too precious because it still needs to work daily and I may want to make modern upgrades etc. without feeling like I am destroying a piece of history. In fact, if I got a really old truck, I would probably prefer it to have a more modern engine etc. Anyway, to cut a long story short, there is this truck cgi.ebay.com.au/international-acco-510A-...?hash=item1e58c1f142 .
Sorry, don't know how to make this a link.
It doesn't have quite the head turning qualities I wanted but the box on the back is perfect because it's basically meant to be a mobile workshop. Opinions on this truck would be appreciated and any alternative trucks you know of. If it didn't have a box like this I would probably just be after a trayback so I can do my own. If you think I will regret buying an old truck, please let me know. Thanks guys.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
14 years 6 months ago - 14 years 6 months ago #15943 by Andy Wright