Skip to main content

Brakes Bedford J5 truck

More
3 years 6 months ago - 3 years 6 months ago #215318 by Dutchman
Hallo, first I am a newbie on this platform an d I am Dutch, sorry for my poor Englisch.
My Bedford J5 has problems with the brake, the pedal goes lina directa to the floor, w.o functions.
I found out the brake booster is not good, it shows problems for a very long period of bad maintenance.

There is a pipe housing on the mounting house of the brake booster, no connecting, air in and out free. What is the function off this connection?

I place photo`s for clearance and show.

Attachments:
Last edit: 3 years 6 months ago by Sarge.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
3 years 6 months ago #215334 by asw120
Replied by asw120 on topic Brakes Bedford J5 truck
Hi Dutchman and welcome! We have a few Bedford people here. I'm sure someone familiar with this system will be able to assist soon. All the best.

Jarrod.

“I offer my opponents a bargain: if they will stop telling lies about us, I will stop telling the truth about them”

― Adlai E. Stevenson II
The following user(s) said Thank You: Dutchman

More
3 years 6 months ago #215344 by Brocky45
Replied by Brocky45 on topic Brakes Bedford J5 truck
Not sure if this will answer your question?? The older boosters need fresh air to operate. the fresh air (14 psi) pushes against the diaphragm as the vacuum pulls it.. My 1955 Ford F-600 vacuum booster has a fresh air hose which comes up behind the seat with a filter on it.

More
3 years 6 months ago #215346 by Dutchman
Replied by Dutchman on topic Brakes Bedford J5 truck
Yes, it`s possible the booster needs air outside. But I am not sure they need an one way valve too? Only air in...?